top of page
  • pathscrossed

Mission Impossible

Last September when we returned from six weeks of travel, a pile of mail waited. As we sorted out junk, we set aside the letter from Duke Energy, suspecting it to be junk as SECO is our electricity provider. A few days later, my neighbor asked if I had received a letter from Duke Energy and read it? I answered, “Yes and no.” She responded, “You better.”


Years ago, I was so enamored with the Marjorie Harris Carr Cross Florida Greenway (Greenway) that I became its advocate and volunteer. It is now a state park but its history to becoming one is amazing, its recognized champion being Marjorie Harris Carr. Talk about something good coming out of something bad.


In brief, the Greenway is a 110-mile-long linear park and wildlife corridor that is about a mile wide. It runs east and west between the St. Johns River and the Gulf of Mexico. It is a splendid example of the real Florida. So much that when it came time for me to end my nomadic ways, I purchased a house that bordered the Greenway. I consider it my forever home.


When I opened the letter from Duke Energy, I learned Duke Energy had plans for the Greenway other than it was intended. Their plan was to clear-cut a 100’ wide swath through the long-leaf pine forest for about 6 miles. Within that path of destruction, they would erect 90’ to 110’ tall steel towers which they would connect with a 230-kilovolt transmission line that would buzz. Then, forevermore, they would subdue vegetation with herbicides.


How could Duke even think of such a thing? With over a million visitors a year, the Greenway is the most visited state park in Florida and home to a myriad of wildlife, including the threatened species of Gopher tortoise, Scrub jays, Indigo snake, and plants whose names I can’t pronounce or spell. As I looked further, I teased out the answer to the question – money.


“For most of the wild things on earth, the future must depend on

the conscience of mankind.” Dr. Archie Carr


While an existing transportation/utility route existed, it would be much cheaper for Duke to degrade the Greenway.  Duke Energy works for its stockholders, of which I was one, and a cheaper route would equal greater dividends.


Duke Energy was doing what was required. They put on notice those residents living within 500 feet of the proposed line and then would host two ‘Informational Open Houses.’ There was about five weeks between the two events. Best I can tell, of all the bordering neighborhoods, only one was a retirement community, the one I resided in. There, folks talked. Many said it was a done deal, they weren’t going to waste their time fighting a mega corporation. Others said they wouldn’t go down without a fight. I learned a new acronym – NIMBY (Not In My Back Yard). For me it was about much more than that; it was about the ‘Greater Good.’  All the other bordering subdivisions appeared to be working families who were likely patrons of the Greenway but had little time to defend it. I remembered when that was me how much spare time I had in a day, little to none. In this case, the seniors would take the lead as it was going to be a time-consuming endeavor.

 

“Be bold and mighty forces will come to your aid.” -  Goethe


To have any chance of success we needed to organize and recruit allies. Not only the other neighborhoods, but the Greenway user groups, i.e. hikers, bikers, equestrians, birders, dog walkers, and the like. To that end, the ‘Greenway Guardians’ was born – our mission being to “Persuade Duke Energy not to compromise the Majorie Harris Carr Cross Florida Greenway – to utilize an existing transportation/utility route instead.”



As its founder and president, I would adapt my experiences leading task forces to direct the Greenway Guardians. We were a sprouting grassroots group with no funding and I had never worked harder or longer. Petitions would serve as our first instrument of PIE (Public Information Education). I was graced with the talents of many fellow volunteers.


“Nothing of significance was ever achieved by an individual acting alone.”  - Maxwell


Before the ‘Informational Open Houses,’ I emailed Duke via the address provided in their letter, requesting an email response. Some four days later a lady called. I explained that I would only communicate with them by email as there was no accountability for what she might say. Her tactics reminded me of those I had been taught in hostage negotiation. We went round and round on this before I advised I was going to hang up. The ground rules had been set. All future communication will be via email. My adverse relationship with Duke had begun.


When it came time for the ‘Informational Open Houses,’ it did not appear that Duke Energy spared any cost. It was tended by employees from far and wide, many contractual. The newly anointed Greenway Guardians from our retirement community appeared in masses. Duke folks did a lot of glad-handing and I felt we were being patronized. This is probably when Duke first realized they weren’t going to sweep this under the rug.   


While Duke may have had to notify those residents living near their proposed electrical line, they had no interest in posting their plan in the media or at the trailheads where Greenway stakeholders from far and wide go to enjoy this fabulous resource. Duke knew there was strength in numbers and they hoped to keep it manageable. It was obvious this was not Duke Energy’s first rodeo but it certainly was ours. Following the ‘Informational Open Houses,’ we were allowed a 30-day public comment period. With a long way to go and a short time to get there, it rang of the David and Goliath Biblical story.





I envisioned a four-phase campaign, mimicking past task forces I had managed. From petitions to PIE (Public Information Education) speeches. From newspaper to television. From informational signage to circulating flyers with Duke comment forms. To writing letters to elected officials and then staging a rally on the Land Bridge that crosses I-75. All of this was an undertaking of volunteers, who came to the aid of the Greenway with a variety of knowledge, skills, and abilities.





Phase two ended with the public comment period, which had been extended two weeks when we discovered that the mailing address on Duke’s comment forms was undeliverable. So to speak, on the last day of November half-time began. The Greenway Guardians went to the locker room wondering if they would have to play phases three and four. Hoping for the best but preparing for the worst, they did research and preparation.  


On January 24, 2024, I received a courtesy email from Duke Energy advising they would not be placing the line through the Greenway. I sighed in relief. Later that day they made their public announcement. Looking back, I make an analogy to a football game – from the players on the field to the many advising and cheering spectators in the stands, it was a team success.



For me, the founder and president of the Greenway Guardians, it was an amazing experience and education. I must admit that growing the group from two to over 1000 would not have been possible without our Facebook group ‘Greenway Guardians.’


In hindsight, it makes me even more proud to be an American. Before now, I had never needed to exercise the rights guaranteed in the First Amendment: freedom of speech, press, and right to peaceably assemble. In our campaign to protect the Greenway, it allowed us, the common citizens, to come together and be heard loud and clear.


Another realization was the power of policy formed from legislation. Duke Energy did what it had to do: notify affected residents, provide an informational open house, and provide 30 days for them to respond. I would argue that it is not fair. For a rehearsed professional corporation to surprise attack an area and expect them to make a formable defense is unlikely. As fate would have it, in this case, the greater good persevered.


Some might now call me an environmentalist; I take it as a compliment. This trial by fire has caused me to realize that legislation is influenced by interest groups, such as corporations, who like the rules to be made in their favor so that down the road, when game time comes, they are likely to succeed. As citizens, we would be wise to pay attention to legislation, but who has time?


“Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others.”  - Winston Churchill


Another unfortunate reality is the power of ‘Quid Pro Quo.” During our campaign, we reached out to similar environmental groups requesting a letter of support. I was surprised by the number that did not answer or return our call. I wondered why. Could it be that the corporation we opposed had previously giftred them a grant?

    

This experience has provided me with an even greater admiration for the trials and tribulations the late Marjorie Harris Carr endured in getting the Cross Florida Barge Canal transformed into the Cross Florida Greenway. I like to think we made her proud.  From Mission Impossible to Mission Accomplished. Hallelujah!


“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” -  Theodore Roosevelt

 

160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page