top of page
  • pathscrossed

Blue Goose Ride-Along

by Clif Edwards


  

“A proud tradition of SERVICE through EXCELLENCE, INTEGRITY, and COURTESY.”

Michigan State Police motto

 

In 1987, I was promoted from being a trooper. I retired as a detective lieutenant in 2001. Doing the math, you see it has been a while since I’ve been in a Michigan State Police (MSP) patrol vehicle, affectionately known as a ‘Blue Goose.’ Some things change, some things don’t — first the back story.


In 2013, I published the first book in the Paths Crossed series, Villains-Victims-Victors. It is about being a trooper and sergeant and comprises 76 stand-alone stories. Some years later, I received the following email:

  

Mr. Edwards,


My name is Douglas Ryan, and I first wrote to you around seven years ago after I read Paths Crossed: Villains – Victims - Victors. Then, I was a senior in high school and aspired to become a Michigan State Trooper.


It was during one of my re-reads of your books in high school that I became interested in the American Legion Student Trooper Program. I was pleased to find that the program was still active over 40 years after you went through it. I completed the student trooper class in the summer of 2015, and my experience there left me wondering how someone could do a training program like that for six months. However, I went through the hiring process for the State Police, and I eventually graduated as a member of the 136th Trooper Recruit School in December 2019. My FTO period was delayed a few months due to military leave, but I am off probation now and enjoying trooping on the road in Washtenaw County.


A few days ago, I read Paths Crossed – Heart Shots and enjoyed the familiar writing style of yours I got to know while reading the other books in the series. During a recent shift on patrol, I returned to the area where Trooper Vogel was shot to see what it looks like today. Thank you for writing about your time as a state trooper, a detective, and a park ranger because it motivated me to get to where I am now.


Sincerely, Douglas Ryan


It was the summer of 2023 when our paths crossed for the first time. Douglas Ryan introduced himself after attending a presentation on my latest book in the Paths Crossed series, Heart Shots. His appearance and demeanor made me proud to have once been an MSP trooper. I learned that in addition to being a trooper, Douglas was a lieutenant in the National Guard, which included a deployment to the Middle East. I once read a book, I believe by Dick Couch, who asked the question, “Where do these people come from?”


Although three generations removed, I sensed the brotherhood. I learned that Douglas was assigned to the Brighton Post and patrolled Washtenaw County, the same turf that was once mine. As we parted ways with a handshake, I asked if I might ride patrol with him one day. He said it would be an honor.


It would not be until the next summer that this came to fruition. With approval from his Post Commander, Trooper Ryan met me at an MSP detachment to begin the 2:00 PM to 2:00 AM shift. Not a misprint – a 12-hour shift that ends at a time when getting caught in overtime is likely.


There, I completed liability paperwork and was loaned a ballistic vest. It had been a long time since I had worn one.


First up was patrol car orientation. His assigned ‘Blue Goose’ was a 2021 Ford Explorer (hybrid) with a top speed of 130 mph. The equipment, from weapons, to combat protective gear, to technology (laptop, onboard printer, radar, cameras, recorders), made me feel like I had served in the old ages. The only equipment I recognized was the flare box, it looked just like the one I had in the 1978 Plymouth Fury I had patrolled with back in the day. In many ways, the dream of a perfect patrol car had come true.  I can’t imagine the cost of these outfitted cruisers.

  

For better or worse, the MSP is rich on tradition. In fact, please notice the word ‘tradition’ is the third word in the MSP motto. To that end, I found it interesting the patrol car still had no ‘prisoner cage’ for the backseat or no separate locking mechanism for the long guns. What it still sported was the hood lamp and the red bubble light on the roof, although the one I was riding in on this Sunday was a slick top.  In my experience traversing our great nation, the bubble and hood light are two things police enthusiasts often associate with the MSP.


Back in my day, I remember when the late great Sergeant Lester Doubleday, legendary MSP firearms instructor, was asked why MSP hadn’t upgraded from drop pouches to speed loaders, or was it revolvers to pistols? He said they were not “time tested.” With time, they apparently met the test and MSP followed the lead of other agencies. Although I know of no other modern police agency that hasn’t utilized cages and long gun-locking mechanisms for years, MSP remains the outlier.


Back to firearms, I was pleased to learn that MSP had recently upgraded from the pump shotgun to the semi-auto shotgun. I remember when firing the pump shotgun from the prone position, we were trained to roll onto our back to rack it. I didn’t like taking my eyes off the threat.

 

But conversely, I question the rationale of switching pistols from Sig Sauer to Glock back to Sig Sauer. While it might be argued that the MSP got a good deal on the trade, the associated expenses of holsters and training should be considered, not to mention potential muscle memory confusion.

      



After retiring from the MSP, I became a ranger with the National Park Service (NPS) which required me to become an EMT. This background drew my attention to the cruiser’s backpack-style First Aid Kit. With it is a detachable IFAK (Individual First Aid Kit) which a trooper can strap to themself when responding to a high-risk incident.  I wondered if NPS Ranger Kris Eggle might have survived had he had an IFAK when he was shot.


From my experiences as a ranger, I knew that while the backpack most likely contained what you needed, finding that item during an emergency was the challenge.  For that reason, I asked Trooper Ryan to open the bifold backpack and observed that the MSP had gone a long way toward solving that problem with plainly labeled compartments.


Another interesting gadget stored in the aft of the Blue Goose resembled a frisbee with a 100’ cord attached. I learned it was a “ResQ Disc” and used in water rescues. Perhaps ‘Disc Golf’ should be part of the required College Criminal Justice curriculum. It certainly would have more practical application than my PT class of bowling.


  

We then strapped in. I learned the cruiser was equipped with two in-car cameras in addition to the body camera Trooper Ryan was wearing, which recorded during public contacts. I learned that when he said we were “hot,” that was my cue not to say anything I wouldn’t want broadcasted on the national news.  Easier said than done.


We checked in service twice: MSP and Washtenaw County Dispatch, with Washtenaw being our primary point of contact. We, along with three other MSP patrols, had all of Washtenaw County to patrol and would respond to complaints in those townships not having contracted police services with a municipality, most often the sheriff’s department.


Within minutes we were dispatched to a suspicious person in York Township. Locating the man and his dog, Trooper Ryan made contact, expressing concern for the man, and his dog’s welfare. Determining the situation safe, we slipped onto US-23 and resumed patrol.

A few traffic stops later we made a warrant arrest in which bond was posted. This required Trooper Ryan to complete an interim bond receipt with a pen, his first actual writing of the shift.

 

We then were dispatched to the west end of the county on a child neglect complaint. There I would witness that compassion, interview skills, and a field notebook were still important components of the job.


From there we were sent to the north side of the county to assist on a domestic violence incident. Before arrival, we were reassigned to assist Ann Arbor PD in searching for a missing tuber on the Huron River near the US-23 overpass. As we searched the riverbank we interacted with officers from other departments.  The uniform contrast was notable.  Back in my day, other departments seemed to mimic MSP uniforms. That appears to have changed, them now wearing a fatigue-type uniform with exterior, equipment bearing, ballistic vests. The equipment worn by today’s officer far exceeds that of my day and studies suggest weight distribution is beneficial to officer longevity.


Fond of the traditional MSP uniform, I found myself pondering the pros and cons. As I did, I recalled that when I was a trooper, we wore a flapped cross-draw holster on our left hip, no matter whether you were right or left-hand dominant. Uniform appearance was imperative. It was not until the late 1980s that this tradition was abandoned in the interest of officer safety.

Twice during our shift, dispatch broadcast a BOL (Be On Lookout) for vehicles involved in road rage. Both times we thought we were well positioned to intercept but no joy.


As we patrolled the northeastern township of Salem, two “crotch rockets” (motorcycles) turned onto the roadway toward us. The riders seemed preoccupied with each other as they appeared to be getting ready to race north. They were oblivious to us, perhaps being in a slick-top Blue Goose (No red light on the roof) made us less identifiable.


Our idle chatter ended as Trooper Ryan did a power turn to get behind them before they sped away. The motorcycles displayed no license plates, had no mirrors, and the helmeted riders wore masks on a hot day. I bet to myself they were going to ‘rabbit.’



Trooper Ryan was on them hard, red and blue lights flashing, but it was the blaring siren that caused the riders to look back.  Probably thinking we were an ambulance or fire truck they pulled to the shoulder, one about 20 yards ahead of the other.


Trooper Ryan sprang from the patrol car, and his polite and friendly demeanor instantly switched to command and control. Initially the motorcyclist projected defiance, but the trooper’s command presence persuaded them otherwise.  Neither had a driver’s license and were ordered to sit on the ground.  



While one was cooperative, the other was not and refused to give his name. His attitude earned him a pair of handcuffs and I was introduced to the modern ‘name game.’


Trooper Ryan stood him up, leaned him against the hood of the patrol car, removed his glasses, and took his picture with his MSP cell phone equipped with facial recognition software. No more than 30 seconds later, he called the mystery man by name. The suspended driver hung his head.

 

The arrestee’s handcuffs were moved to the front as he claimed to be recovering from shoulder surgery. He was then seated in the right front seat of the patrol car where I monitored him while Trooper Ryan checked the serial numbers on the motorcycles. During that time the seated detainee was studying the interior of the cruiser, his intentions suspect. I told him to keep his eyes forward.


Tickets printed, motorcycles towed, and violators picked up by a friend, we cleared. 


It was dark when we stopped at what was the Ypsilanti Post in my day and is now a sheriff substation that serves Ypsilanti Township. A sheriff sergeant graciously gave me a tour. Oh, the memories, two of which I think are relevant to this story.


I trooped out of the Ypsilanti Post from 1978 to 1986. It was during that time the first hints of changing the tradition of all patrols after dark being two persons. I remember then Lieutenant Colonel William Hassinger resisting the change saying, “I don’t know two troopers who wouldn’t stop the devil himself and I don’t want to see that change.” This tradition did change with time; evidenced by Trooper Ryan working 2:00 pm to 2:00 am alone.


During that time Michigan troopers did not carry batons and it was suggested that a baton might be a good substitute for a partner. I remember Ohio Trooper Welch coming to the Ypsilanti Post and giving us a two-hour class on how to use them.


Some forty years have passed since then. It is my understanding that Michigan troopers no longer carry collapsible batons on their duty belts. I’m okay with that as I never knew one to be effective when used as trained. However, I do know of instances where they have been taken away from an officer and used effectively against them by the untrained.


While batons have passed on, night partners have not been reborn. The pendulum swings with tradition often in the balance.

     

It was nearing midnight when Trooper Ryan dropped me off. Ten hours was long enough for this old dog. I am grateful to the MSP and Trooper Ryan for allowing me to experience a Blue Goose ride-along.


NOTE – Opinions expressed in this blog are solely of the author. 

 

“It does not matter if the cobblers and masons fail to do their jobs well,

               but if the guardians fail, the democracy will crumble.”  

Plato ~



275 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


wmpltr
Aug 05

Thanks for this very enjoyable account of your ride along. It was especially interesting to learn of the changes since your days as a trooper with the MSP. I was very surprised to learn that MSP cars do not have a cage for miscreants. I would think this would be essential for trooper safety. -Bill P.

Like
bottom of page